close

Joint IGMM/LIRMM/IMAG Computational Regulatory Genomics Team

The joint IGMM/LIRMM/IMAG “Computational Regulatory Genomics” develops machine learning and statistical methods to integrate and interpret diverse types of genomics data, delineate relevant genomic regions and identify novel regulatory elements, with the ultimate goal of uncovering genetic features relevant to medical genomics.

More specifically, many loci can be transcribed outside annotated protein-coding gene promoters to generate various RNAs, e.g. enhancer RNAs, microRNAs and various long non-coding RNAs. On the other hand, genome-wide association studies show that trait-associated loci, including those linked to human diseases, can be found outside canonical protein-coding regions. These recent findings suggest that the non-coding regions of the human genome harbor a plethora of functionally significant elements, which can dramatically impact genome regulations and functions but yet remain to be explored. Their study is at the core of Computational Regulatory Genomics” team’s project.

 

This team was created in October 2014 at the Computational Biology Institute of Montpellier (http://www.ibc-montpellier.fr) and works in a highly interdisciplinary environment at the interface of computer science, statistics and biology. The members of the group have different backgrounds and are affiliated to the Institute of Molecular Genetics of Montpellier (IGMM; biology; http://www.igmm.cnrs.fr), the Laboratory of Informatics, Robotics and Microelectronics of Montpellier (LIRMM; computer science; http://www.lirmm.fr/recherche) and the Montpellier Alexander Grothendieck Institute (IMAG, statistics; http://imag.edu.umontpellier.fr).

Moreover, the team is engaged in several international collaborative research programs, notably through a CNRS International Associated Laboratory (1) with Pr. Wyeth W. Wasserman, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada; https://cmmt.ubc.ca/wasserman-lab/) and the FANTOM consortium (2)(based at RIKEN Yokohama, Japan; http://fantom.gsc.riken.jp).

(1) The “miREGEN” LIA (International Associated Laboratory) is supported by the French National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS) and the University of British Columbia (CMMT). It aims at studying computational aspects of transcriptional regulation of genes, in particular non-coding RNAs.

(2) FANTOM is a international consortium based at RIKEN Yokohama (Japan) to which the “Computational Regulatory Genomics” team is affiliated. It aims at better understanding transcriptional regulations orchestrating gene expression in human and mouse.

 

 

Keywords:

Regulatory genomics, transcription, medical genomics, bioinformatics, statistics, machine learning.

 

People

Laurent Bréhélin, CNRS Researcher, LIRMM
Sophie Lèbre, Associate Professor, IMAG & University of Montpellier
Charles-Henri Lecellier, CNRS Researcher, IGMM
Chloé Bessière, Research Engineer, IGMM
Christophe Menichelli, PhD sSudent, LIRMM
Raphael Romero, PhD Student, IMAG
Oceane Cassan, Master Student from ENSA Lyon
Mathys Grapotte, Master Student, from University of Montpellier & Télécom St Etienne

 

Previous lab members

Amadou Kide Abdallahi, Master Student, from University Paris 7
Florent Petitprez, Master Student from Ecole Polytechnique
Manu Saraswat, Master Student from BiTS Pilani Goa
May Taha, PhD Student from IGMM & IMAG
Jimmy Vandel, Post-Doc

Publications

fermer

Equipe IGMM/LIRMM/IMAG Regulations Génomiques Computationnelles

L’équipe IGMM/LIRMM/IMAG « Régulations Génomiques Computationnelles » développe des méthodes fondées sur les statistiques et l’apprentissage automatique pour intégrer et interpréter différents types de données génomiques, délimiter des régions génomiques pertinentes et identifier de nouveaux éléments régulateurs, ceci afin de mieux comprendre le fonctionnement du génome et découvrir de nouveaux biomarqueurs utiles en médecine génomique.

Plus spécifiquement, de nombreux loci sont transcrits en dehors des promoteurs des gènes codants pour générer une grande variété d’ARNs comme les eRNAs (RNA transcrits au niveau des enhancers), les microRNAs et différentes classes d’ARNs longs non-codants. Par ailleurs, les études d’association à l’échelle du génome montrent que de nombreux loci associés à certains traits cliniques, y compris ceux liés à des pathologies humaines, sont localisés en dehors des régions codant les protéines. Ces observations récentes suggèrent que les régions non-codantes du génome humain contiennent une pléthore d’éléments régulateurs qui peuvent impacter les régulations du génome et ses fonctions et qui doivent être mieux caractérisés. C’est à ce défi que veut contribuer l’équipe « Régulations Génomiques Computationnelles ».

Cette dernière a été créée en Octobre 2014 à l’Institut de Biologie Computationnelle de Montpellier (http://www.ibc-montpellier.fr) et travaille dans un environnement interdisciplinaire à l’interface de l’informatique, des statistiques et de la biologie. Ses membres possèdent différentes expertises scientifiques et sont affiliés à l’Institut de Génétique Moléculaire de Montpellier (IGMM; biology; http://www.igmm.cnrs.fr), au Laboratoire d’Informatique, de Robotique et de Micro-électronique de Montpellier (LIRMM; computer science; http://www.lirmm.fr/recherche) et à l’Institut Montpelliérain Alexander Grothendieck (IMAG, Statistics; http://imag.edu.umontpellier.fr).

Par ailleurs, l’équipe est impliquée dans différents programmes de recherche internationaux, notamment un Laboratoire International Associé du CNRS (1) (avec le Pr. Wyeth W. Wasserman, Université de Colombie Britannique, Vancouver, Canada. https://cmmt.ubc.ca/wasserman-lab/) et le consortium FANTOM (2) (basé au RIKEN Yokohama, Japan. http://fantom.gsc.riken.jp/index.html).

(1) Le LIA (Laboratoire International Associé) « miREGEN » est soutenu par le CNRS (IGMM et LIRMM) et l’université de Colombie Britannique (CMMT). Son partenaire français est l’équipe « Régulations Génomiques Computationnelles ». Il étudie les aspects computationnels de la régulation transcriptionnelle des gènes, notamment des ARNs non codants.

(2) FANTOM est un consortium international basé au RIKEN de Yokohama (Japon) auquel est affilié l’équipe « Régulations Génomiques Computationnelles ». Il a pour but de mieux comprendre les régulations transcriptionnelles orchestrant l’expression des gènes chez l’homme et la souris.

Mots-clefs:

Régulations génomiques, transcription, génomique médicale, bioinformatique, statistique, apprentissage automatique.

 

Membres

Laurent Bréhélin, CNRS Researcher, LIRMM
Sophie Lèbre, Associate Professor, IMAG & University of Montpellier
Charles-Henri Lecellier, CNRS Researcher, IGMM
Chloé Bessière, Research Engineer, IGMM
Christophe Menichelli, PhD Student, LIRMM
Raphael Romero, PhD Student, IMAG
Oceane Cassan, Master Student from ENSA Lyon
Mathys Grapotte, Master Student, from University of Montpellier & Télécom St Etienne

 

Previous lab members

Amadou Kide Abdallahi, Master Student, from University Paris 7
Florent Petitprez, Master Student from Ecole Polytechnique
Manu Saraswat, Master Student from BiTS Pilani Goa
May Taha, PhD Student from IGMM & IMAG
Jimmy Vandel, Post-Doc

Publications