External Scientific Advisory Board and AERES Evaluation

The External Scientific Advisory Board

The External Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) of IGMM examines the overall activity of the Institute as well as that of its constituting teams at regular intervals. The SAB is also consulted on the evaluation of applications for group leader positions and on other major scientific policy issues of the Institute. The SAB advice complements the evaluation of the AERES agency (Agence d’Evaluation de la Recherche et de l’Enseignement Supérieur). The members of IGMM SAB are:

  • G. Friedlander (Paris Descartes Medical School, Paris, France)
  • Manuela Baccarini (The Max F. Perutz Laboratories, Vienna, Austria)
  • Benoît Chabot (University of Sherbrooke, Canada)
  • Fatima Gebauer Hernandez (Center for Genomic Regulation, Barcelona, Spain)
  • Ron Hay (Wellcome Trust Centre for Gene Regulation and Expression, Dundee, UK)
  • Ari Helenius (Institute of Biochemistry, Zurich, Switzerland)
  • Saadi Khochbin (Institut Albert Bonniot, Grenoble, France)
  • Karim Labib (College of Life Sciences, University of Dundee, UK)
  • Gioacchino Natoli (IFOM-IEO, Milano, Italia)
  • Alain Puisieux (CRCL, Lyon, France)
  • Katja Simon (UNiversity of Oxford, UK)
  • Marc Vidal (CCSB, Dana Farber Cancer Institute, Boston, USA)

2014 AERES Committee

The AERES was an independent agency for evaluation of French academic research laboratories and universities till December 2014. It was used to evaluate institutions and laboratory units every 4 to 5 years. It was replaced by the High Council for Evaluation of Research and Higher Education (HCERES; in 2015.

The last evaluation of IGMM was held in 2014 and the members of the AERES committee were: 

  • Moshe Yaniv (Institut Pasteur, Paris, France)
  • François-Loïc Cosset (Ecole Normale Supérieure, Lyon, France)
  • Magali Frugier (Institut de Génétique et Biologie Moléculaire, Strasbourg, France)
  • Olivier Jean-Jean (Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris, France)
  • Saadi Khochbin (Institut Albert Bonniot, La Tronche, France)
  • Tomi Mäkelä (University of Helsinki, Finland)
  • Michael H. Malim (King’s College, London, UK)
  • Marcos Malumbres (Centro Nacional de Investigationes Oncologicas, Madrid, Spain)
  • Seamus Martin (The Smurfit Institute of Genetics, Dublin, Ireland)
  • Nicholas J. Proudfoot (University of Oxford, Oxford, UK)
  • Katja Simon (John Radcliffe Hospital, Oxford, UK)
Scientific Delegate of AERES
  • Jean-Antoine Lepesant (Institut Jacques Monod, Paris, France)
ITA Representative of the National Committee for Scientific Research (CoNRS)
  • René Toci (CNRS, Marseille, France)