close

Nuclear Control of Cell Proliferation

Daniel Fisher

Research projects

The cell cycle is controlled by coordinated post-translational modifications, especially phosphorylation and ubiquitination. Cyclin dependent protein kinases (CDKs) are fundamental cell cycle regulators whose importance is conserved throughout the eukaryotes. CDKs act as ”molecular switches”, necessary to induce rapid and unidirectional transitions in the cell cycle, including the initiation of DNA replication and mitosis. The impact upon biomedical research of the discovery of CDKs was recognised by the award of the Nobel Prize in Medecine in 2001 to Nurse, Hartwell and Hunt. The challenge is now to understand the molecular circuitry upstream and downstream of these regulators.

CDK activation is the primary step that commits a cell to DNA replication and passage through the cell cycle. We found in the model system of fission yeast (Fisher and Nurse, 1996) that oscillation in activity of a single cyclin-dependent kinase complex suffices to order the eukaryotic cell-cycle. These results led to a quantitative model of CDK-mediated cell-cycle control, the principles of which are the same in vertebrates. 

In this model, high CDK activity promotes mitosis and prevents replication origin licensing, and lower CDK activity promotes S-phase. However, usually different cyclin-CDK complexes trigger DNA replication (S-phase CDK) and mitosis (M-phase CDK), but they may be functionally redundant, with absence of one cyclin or CDK being compensated for by another. This functional redundancy is still not well understood, and it has complicated our comprehension of the functions of individual CDKs.

One of our goals is to describe essential CDK targets and how their phosphorylation triggers and organises DNA replication.

We would also like to understand how the CDK control network ensures that DNA replication and mitosis are ordered and never overlap, which would be extremely detrimental to the genome. And we want to know how the decision to replicate is made: ie how the upstream signals which trigger cell proliferation affect the CDK control network, and how the cell nucleus is reorganised from a quiescent state to a replication competent-state. To answer these questions we are applying a "systems biology" approach of functional proteomics.

The fundamental principles of cell cycle control are conserved in all eukaryotic cells, and most of our advances in understanding have come from the study of simple cell cycle models, such as yeast and eggs of amphibians.

In our lab, the model system we use is that of Xenopus egg extracts, which autonomously undergo regulated cell-cycles in vitro, in the complete absence of transcription. We also use different human primary cells and cell lines to study conservation of mechanisms, enabling us to identify the most important.

Finally, because of their importance in controlling cell proliferation, CDKs are implicated in a wide variety of pathologies, including cancers, viral and parasitic infections, chronic inflammation, and even neural accidents or degenerative diseases.

They are therefore attractive therapeutic targets, and many small-molecule CDK inhibitors have been developed. Chemical inhibition is also an important approach complementary to genetic knockdowns or knockouts for physiological studies, since it maintains the presence of all proteins studied and thereby avoids the formation of unnatural complexes. Using a combination of depletion and chemical inhibition approaches we recently found that CDK1 and CDK2 have distinct but redundant roles in promotion of replication origin firing in Xenopus egg extracts (Krasinska et al., 2008). We are now developing a novel chemical-genetic approach to precisely inhibit and restore functions of individual CDK-cyclin complexes.

Members

Team leader

Daniel FISHER

Chercheur DR2

(+33) 04 34 35 96 94

110

Nuria ANDRES

Doctorant

+33 (0)4 34 35 96 94

110

Lucie ANGEVIN

Doctorant

+33 (0)4 34 35 96 93

110

Ana-Bella AZNAR

T-Recherche

(+33) 04 34 35 96 94

110

Dhanvantri CHAHAR

Chercheur

+33 (0)4 34 35 96 94

110

Geronimo DUBRA

AI-Recherche

+33 (0)4 34 35 96 94

Robert HIPSKIND

Chercheur DR2

(+33) 04 34 35 96 94

110

Liliana KRASINSKA

CRCN

(+33) 04 34 35 96 74

219

Susana PRIETO

Chercheur

(+33) 04 34 35 96 94

110

Selected Publications

More information

Funding

Agence Nationale de la Recherche (ANR)

Institut Nationale du Cancer (INCa)

La Ligue Nationale contre le Cancer

La Région Languedoc Roussillon

Association pour la Recherche contre le Cancer

fermer

Contrôle Nucléaire de la Prolifération Cellulaire

Daniel Fisher

Projets de recherche

Le cycle cellulaire est contrôlé par des modifications post-traductionnels de protéines, surtout la phosphorylation et l’ubiquitination. Les Kinases Dépendantes de Cyclines (CDKs) sont des régulateurs fondamentaux, dont l’importance est conservée dans le royaume des eucaryotes. Les CDKs agissent comme des ”intérupteurs moléculaires”, et sont nécessaires pour induire des transitions rapides et unidirectionnelles dans le cycle cellulaire : l’initiation de la réplication de l’ADN et l’entrée en mitose. L’impacte majeur en recherche biomédicale de la découverte des CDKs fut reconnu par l’attribution du prix Nobel en Médecine en 2001 à Nurse, Hartwell et Hunt. La compréhension des réseaux moléculaires en amont et en aval des CDKs reste un défi majeur.

L’activation des CDKs constitue la première étape qui engage la cellule à répliquer son ADN et à traverser un cycle cellulaire. En utilisant un système modèle de levure, nous avons trouvé (Fisher and Nurse, 1996) que l’oscillation de l’activité d’un complexe cycline-CDK suffit pour ordonner le cycle cellulaire. Ces résultats étaient à l’origine du modèle "quantitatif" du cycle cellulaire, dont les principes sont identiques dans des cellules des vertébrés. 

Dans ce modèle, une activité CDK élevée déclenche l’entrée en mitose et empêche la formation des complexes pré-réplicatifs aux origines de réplication, et une activité plus basse conduit à l’initiation de la réplication. En revanche, normalement, des complexes cycline-CDK différents promouvent la phase S et la phase M, mais ceux-ci montrent des redondances fonctionnelles l’absence d’une cycline ou CDK étant compensée par une autre. Cette redondance fonctionnelle complique notre compréhension des fonctions des cyclines et des CDKs différentes.

Un de nos buts est de décrire des substrats essentiels de CDKs et comprendre comment leur phosphorylation déclenche et organise la réplication de l’ADN. Nous aimerions aussi comprendre comment le réseau de contrôle des CDKs assure l’ordre des phases S et phases M et maintien leur indépendance, ainsi évitant une instabilité du génome.

Enfin, nous voulons savoir comment la décision d’une cellule de répliquer est prise : comment les signaux pro-prolifération affecte le réseau de contrôle des CDKs, et comment le noyau est réorganisé d’un état quiéscent en état compétent à répliquer. Pour répondre à ces questions nous utilisons une approche de "biologie du système" de protéomique fonctionnelle.

Les principes fondamentaux du contrôle du cycle cellulaire sont les mêmes dans toutes les cellules eucaryotes, et nos avancées les plus importantes dans ce domaine proviennent des études des cycles cellulaires simples dans des systèmes modèles, comme les levures ou les oeufs d’amphibien. 

 

Dans notre équipe, nous utilisons le système modèle des extraits d’oeuf de Xénope, qui récapitulent des cycles cellulaires régulés in vitro, en l’absence de transcription. Nous utilisons également différentes cellules humaines, non-transformées ou des lignées de cancers, pour étudier la conservation des mécanismes et ainsi en identifier les plus importants.

Enfin, en raison de leur importance dans le contrôle de la prolifération cellulaire, les CDKs sont impliquées dans une grande variété de pathologies, dont des cancers, des infections virales et protozoaires, l’inflammation chronique, et même des accidents cérébraux ou des maladies neurodégénératives.

Ce sont donc des cibles thérapeutiques potentielles, et de nombreux inhibiteurs chimiques ont été développés. L’inhibition chimique constitue aussi une approche expérimentale importante pour les études physiologiques, car, contrairement à l’interférence ou des knockouts génétiques, la présence de toutes les protéines du système est maintenue, ce qui empêche la formation des complexes non-naturels. En combinant des approches de déplétion et d’inhibition chimique, nous avons récemment trouvé que CDK1 et CDK2 ont des rôles distinctes mais partiellement redondantes dans l’initiation de la réplication de l’ADN (Krasinska et al., 2008). Nous sommes actuellement en train de développer une approche nouvelle de génétique-chimique pour inhiber et restaurer les fonctions des complexes cycline-CDK précis.

Membres

Team leader

Daniel FISHER

Chercheur DR2

(+33) 04 34 35 96 94

110

Emile ALGHOUL

Stagiaire

+33 (0)4 34 35 96 94

110

Lucie ANGEVIN

Doctorant

+33 (0)4 34 35 96 93

110

Ana-Bella AZNAR

T-Recherche

(+33) 04 34 35 96 94

110

Rayene BERKANE

Stagiaire

+33 (0)4 34 35 96 94

Dhanvantri CHAHAR

Chercheur

+33 (0)4 34 35 96 94

110

Geronimo DUBRA

AI-Recherche

+33 (0)4 34 35 96 94

Robert HIPSKIND

Chercheur DR2

(+33) 04 34 35 96 94

110

Liliana KRASINSKA

CRCN

(+33) 04 34 35 96 75

219

Abdelkrim MROUJ

Post-Doc

+33 (0)4 34 35 96 94

110

Susana PRIETO

Chercheur

(+33) 04 34 35 96 94

110

Sélection de publications

Autres informations

Financement

Agence Nationale de la Recherche (ANR)

Institut Nationale du Cancer (INCa)

La Ligue Nationale contre le Cancer

La Région Languedoc Roussillon

Association pour la Recherche contre le Cancer