close

Genomic Imprinting and Development

Robert Feil

Research projects

Our group studies epigenetics in mammals and we are particularly interested in the epigenetic mechanisms that control imprinted genes. These rather unusual genes are organized in evolutionarily conserved chromosomal domains and play diverse but essential roles in development and disease. Imprinted genes are expressed in a mono-allelic manner, depending entirely on whether the gene is inherited from the mother or from the father. This unusual allelic gene expression is controlled by differential DNA methylation ‘imprints’ at key regulatory sequences, and other features of chromatin are critically involved as well.

One theme of the lab is to explore the germline establishment and the somatic maintenance of these epigenetic imprints. Tightly linked to this research question, is the issue of how the methylation imprints bring about imprinted gene expression in the embryo, often in a tissue-specific manner. We have explored this question for selected imprinted domains and our ongoing studies have pinpointed the critical involvement of histone lysine methylation and long non-coding RNAs.

During the last years, our lab has investigated a second theme related to epigenetics, namely the structuration of chromosomal domains within the nucleus and how this can be explored using new technologies. One question which we have investigated for selected imprinted domains, is whether chromatin is structured differently on the maternal versus paternal chromosomes, and whether such differential structuration contributes to the allelic expression of imprinted genes. In parallel, we have used advanced fluorescence microscopy approach to monitor nanoscale chromatin compaction and structuration in living cells. Together with gene targeting approaches, this novel FRET-based assay performed in mouse and nematode model systems allow one to unravel the structural roles of candidate chromatin regulators. The combined studies of our lab aim to enhance our mechanistic understanding of chromatin and imprinted gene regulation, and how this can contribute studying specific human diseases


Epigenetic Regulation, Genomic Imprinting & Development.

Epigenetic mechanisms play diverse roles in development and mediate stable repression or expression of genes in specific cell lineages. These diverse mechanisms can be perturbed by environmental and toxic components, sometimes with long-lasting consequences. In mammals, there are several examples of somatically heritable inactivation of one of the two alleles of genes. These include genes on the X-chromosome in females (‘X-inactivation’) and imprinted genes, an essential set of ~150 protein-coding genes (and hundreds of regulatory non-coding RNA genes). Imprinted gene expression depends entirely on whether the gene is inherited from the mother or the father, and these exceptional genes play key roles in cell proliferation, homeostasis and behaviour. The parent-of-origin specific, mono-allelic, expression of imprinted genes is mediated by so-called imprinting control regions (ICRs). These are essential GC-rich sequence elements of several kilobases onto which epigenetic marks are placed depending on their passage through either the female or the male germ line. The precise nature of these parental epigenetic imprints is not yet fully understood, but they are characterized by DNA methylation. The male- and female-specific establishment of DNA methylation imprints in the germ cells requires the de novo methyltransferase Dnmt3a and its co-factor Dnmt3-like (Dnmt3l). After fertilization, exceptionally, the maternal and paternal methylation imprints are maintained throughout development, in all the somatic cells (Figure 1). Deregulation of this essential process is causally involved in the foetal growth-related syndromes Silver-Russell Syndrome (SRS), Beckwith-Wiedemann Syndrome (BWS) and Transient Neonatal Diabetes Mellitus (TNDM), as well as in different neuro-behavioural syndromes. 

Similarly as at tumour suppressor genes, DNA methylation at imprinted loci is often perturbed in cancer and this contributes to tumorigenesis.

Figure 1: Developmental control of the DNA methylation that controls the allelic expression of imprinted genes. Hypothetical methylation imprints (black lollipops) are shown. The maternal genome is depicted in pink, the paternal one in blue. In Primordial germ cell (PGCs), the imprints are erased to allow a new ‘cycle of imprinting’ for the next generation.

Adapted from Hirasawa & Feil, BioEssays 2010.

1.Maintenance of parental methylation imprints during development.

Within this theme, we focus on the mono-allelic DNA methylation imprints at ‘imprinting control regions’ (ICRs) and how these are maintained during development, particularly during the critical pre-implantation stages. The team has explored the presence and importance of histone lysine and arginine methylation at the chromatin associated with ICRs, which has a very different combination of marks on the DNA-methylated allele compared to the unmethylated allele (Figure 2). More recently, we have become interested in the role of specific transcription factors. Studies use the mouse as model system and explore different imprinted domains and genome-wide aspects of epigenetic regulation. Linked to the exploration of chromatin at ICRs and how their differential DNA methylation is regulated throughout development, is the interesting question about their evolutionary origin and relevance. This theme is of particularly relevant also for human diseases in which losses, or gains, of DNA methylation are causally involved. Therefore, we have established collaborations with clinical groups to explore the conservation of the underlying mechanisms in humans and to explore their importance in imprinting disorders.

Recent publications on this research theme

Henckel A., Chebli K., Kota S.K., Arnaud P., and Feil R. (2012). Transcription and histone methylation changes correlate with imprint acquisition in male germ cells. EMBO Journal, 31, 606-615.

Girardot M., Hirasawa, R., Kacem, S., Fritsch, L., Pontis, J., Kota, S.K., Filipponi, D., Fabbrizio, E., Sardet, C., Lohmann, F., Kadam, S., Ait-Si-Ali, S. and Feil, R. (2014). PRMT5-mediated histone H4 arginine-3 symmetrical dimethylation marks chromatin at G+C rich regions of the mouse genome. Nucleic Acids Research, 42, 235-248.

Auclair, G., Borgel, J., Sanz, L.A., Vallet, J., Guibert, S., Dumas, M., Cavelier, P., Girardot, M., Forné, T., Feil, R.* and Weber, M.* (2016). EHMT2 directs DNA methylation for efficient gene silencing in mouse embryos. Genome Res, 26, 192-202.

Prats-Puig, A., Carreras-Badoso, G., Bassols, J., Cavelier, P., Magret, A., Sabench, C., de Zegher, F., Ibanez, L., Feil, R.*, Lopez-Bermejo, A.* (2017). The placental imprinted DLK1-DIO3 domain: a new link to pre- and postnatal growth in human beings. Am. J. Obstet. & Gynecology, Epub before print.

Figure 2: Differential chromatin organization at ‘imprinting control regions’ (ICRS) in somatic cells. On the parental allele marked by the DNA methylation imprint, there is repressive histone methylation (in red) regulated by different proteins (shown to the left). The opposite, non-methylated allele is marked by ‘active chromatin’ modifications (in green).

(Sanli et al., Int J. Biochem. Cell Biol. 2015).

2.How do ICRs bring about imprinted gene expression in cis?

This has been a long-standing theme of the laboratory and our research addresses how the parentally-acquired DNA methylation marks at CpG islands bring about the mono-allelic gene expression at imprinted chromosomal domains. This poorly understood process occurs during embryogenesis, often in a lineage-specific manner. In earlier work, we showed the importance of lysine methylation at histones in the developmental control of imprinted gene expression. Particularly, we reported diverse roles of the H3 lysine-9 methyltransferase G9A (EHMT2) and that of the type-2 Polycomb Repressive Complex (PRC-2). At several imprinted domains, the ICR produces long ncRNAs that are retained in the nucleus and alter gene expression in cis. To further address their mechanisms of action, we have studied the Dlk1-Dio3 imprinted domain on mouse chromosome 12. We found that the intergenic ICR of this 1-Mb domain acts as an enhancer, controlling in cis the allelic expression of multiple ncRNAs. One of these maternally activated ncRNAs is suspected to repress in cis the protein-coding genes of this large domain domain, a process which we have been exploring in more detail. Interestingly, this long ncRNA, called Meg3 (Maternally expressed gene-3), has the unusual feature that it is retained at its site of transcription. We have developed different ways to visualize the Meg3 lncRNA molecules in the nucleus (Figure 3) based on MS2-tagging approach and single molecule RNA FISH detection. We are performing functional studies to explore its role in gene regulation in embryonic stem cells and neural progenitor cell lines.

Recent publications on this research theme

Kota, S.K.*, Lleres, D.*, Bouschet, T., Hirasawa, R., Marchand, A., Begon-Pescia, C., Sanli, I, Arnaud, P., Journot, L., Girardot, M. and Feil, R. (2014). ICR non-coding RNA expression controls imprinting and DNA replication at the Dlk1-Dio3 domain. Dev Cell, 31, 19-33.

Puget, N., Hirasawa, R., Nguyen Hu, N-S., Laviolette-Malirat, N., Feil, R.* & Khamlichi, A.A.* (2015). Insertion of an imprinted insulator into the IgH locus reveals developmentally regulated, transcription-dependent suppression of V(D)J recombination. Mol Cell Biol. 35, 529-543.

Figure 3: FISH detection of the Meg3 long non-coding RNA of the Dlk1-Dio3 imprinted domain in ES cells, using a classical cDNA probe (green) or fluorescent oligonucleotides that detect the inserted MS2 repeats (red). The image to the right shows the overlay. Scale bar, 5 mm.

(Sanli/Lalevée et al., Cell reports 2018)

3.Structural organisation of imprinted gene domains in the nucleus.

It remains poorly understood how imprinted chromosomal domains are organised in the 3D space of the nucleus, and whether their structural organisation is different on the maternal compared to the paternal genome. A related question is whether the higher-order organisation(s) of imprinted domains is developmentally regulated, and could thus contribute to tissue-specific imprinted gene expression. To explore the nuclear topology of chromatin domains, we have chosen the Dlk1-Dio3 locus on mouse chromosome-12 as a model locus and also other imprinted domains. In our studies on embryonic stem (ES) and differentiated cells we use different DNA Fluorescence in-situ hybridization (FISH) approaches and, in collaboration with others, apply chromosome conformation capture (4C) techniques. Combined, these approaches provide important insights into the differential structuration on the maternal versus paternal chromosomes, and whether such differential chromatin organization contributes to the allelic expression of imprinted genes.

Recent publications on this research theme

Kota, S.K.*, Lleres, D.*, Bouschet, T., Hirasawa, R., Marchand, A., Begon-Pescia, C., Sanli, I, Arnaud, P., Journot, L., Girardot, M. and Feil, R. (2014). ICR non-coding RNA expression controls imprinting and DNA replication at the Dlk1-Dio3 domain. Dev Cell, 31, 19-33.

Sanli, I. and Feil, R. (2016). PRC-mediated interaction networks of repressed genes: emerging insights and possible roles. Epigenomics, 8, 733-735.

Figure 4: Neural progenitor cells (NPCs) obtained by in vitro differentiation of embryonic stem (ES) cells in culture medium supplemented with cyclopamine, a sonic hedgehog inhibitor. Immunofluorescence staining is performed to confirm the cortical identity of the NPCs that were obtained following 12 days of differentiation.

(see also Kota/Llères et al. Developmental Cell 2014).

4.Exploration of nanoscale chromatin structuration in living cells and animals

Recently, we have adapted a FRET-based microscopy approach to assess compaction of chromatin in living cells. In particular, this novel approach, based on the non-invasive fluorescence lifetime imaging (FLIM) technique, monitors the nanoscale structure of chromatin and its compaction state in living conditions. We successfully used this quantitative microscopy approach in living nematodes, to define chromatin compaction states along meiotic chromosomes, and the role of condensin complexes at specific meiotic stages. This nanoscale chromatin compaction assay works well in human cancer cells as well, which has allowed us to explore the chromatin structural roles of specific chromatin associated-proteins. For the future, we aim to get this experimental system to work in primary mouse cells, to then explore the role of chromatin modifiers in the nanoscale chromatin structuration of chromatin and it offers the exciting prospect to explore the effects of genetic and environmental factors on chromatin compaction.

Recent publications on this research theme

Lleres, D.*, Bailly, A.P.*, Perrin, A., Norman, D., Xirodimas, D.P., Feil, R. (2017). Quantitative FLIM-FRET microscopy to monitor nanoscale chromatin compaction in vivo reveals structural roles of condensin complexes. Cell reports, 18, 1791-1803.

Sobecki M, Camasses A, Mrouj K, Parisis N, Nicolas E, Lleres D, Gerbe F, Prieto S, Krasinska L, David A, Egure M, Birling M-C, Hem S, Dejardin J, Malumbres M, Jay P, Dulic V, Lafontaine DLJ, Feil R, Fisher D (2016). Ki-67 organises heterochromatin and controls gene expression during cell proliferation. ELife, e13722.

Figure 5: Nanoscale chromatin compaction in living germ cells, at the pachytene stage of meiosis (in C. elegans). Fluorescence lifetime microscopy was applied to measure FRET between fluorophore-tagged H2B histones. The red domains are the most highly compacted, blue regions the less compacted. (Llères D, Bailly A et al. Cell reports 2017)

Members

Team leader

Robert FEIL

Chercheur DR1

(+33) 04 34 35 96 63

206

Patricia CAVELIER

IE-Recherche

(+33) 04 34 35 96 66

M207

Claire DUPONT

Doctorant

+33 (0)4 34 35 96 63

206

SABINA FARHADOVA

Doctorant

+33 (0)4 34 35 96 66

Amani GHOUSEIN

Chercheur

+33 (0)4 34 35 96 63

206

Melisa GOMEZ-VELAZQUEZ

Post-Doc

+33 (0)4 34 35 96 32

David LLERES

CRCN

(+33) 04 34 35 96 66

Previous lab members

Alan Aitchison University of Otaga, Christchurch, New Zealand (Senior Research Assistant)

Philippe Arnaud GRED, University of Auvergne (PI, Group Leader)

Katia Delaval INRS, Paris (Reporter)

Doria Filipponi IMCB, Singapore (Post-doctoral Research Fellow)

Cécile Fournier CHU, Montpellier (Patient Communication Manager)

Michael Girardot CGI-Consulting, Montpellier (Senior Consultant)

Yuji Goto Toho University, Chiba, Japan (Associate Professor)

Richard Gregory Childrens’ Hospital, Harvard, Boston (Full Professor, Group Leader)

Amandine Henckel ASPA, Strasbourg, France (Communication Manager)

Herry Herman School of Medicine, Payakumbuh, Indonesia (MD, Specialist)

Ryutaro Hirasawa Pharmaceutical and Medical Devices Agency, Tokyo, Japan (Deputy-Director)

Sanjeev Khosla CDFD, Hyderabad, India (PI, Group Leader)

Satya K. Kota Harvard School of Dental Medicine, Boston, USA (Assistant Professor, Group Leader)

Sébastien Lalevée Agenus Bio Company, Basel, Switzerland (Research Manager)

Alice Marchand IPBS, CNRS, Toulouse (Research Assistant)

Maëlle Pannetier INRA- Jouy-en-Josas (Senior Researcher)

Rakesh Pathak NIH, Bethesda, MD, USA (Post-Doctoral Researcher)

Aurélien Perrin CHU-INSERM, Montpellier (Research Assistant)

Ildem Sanli Institut Pasteur, Paris (Post-Doctoral Researcher)

Lionel Sanz University of California at Davis, California, USA (Post-doctoral Researcher)

Samantha Thompson ABCAM plc, Cambridge, UK (Marketing and Sales)

Szabolcs Toth Consulting Comp., Montpellier (Consulting Manager)

David Umlauf LBME-University of Toulouse (Associate Professor)

Alexandre Wagschal Exonics Therapeutics, Boston, USA (Researcher)

 

Selected Publications

More information

Funding
For lab’s research during the last five years has received generous grant, salary and travel funding from:

Fondation Recherche Médicale (FRM)

Agence Nationale de la Recherche (ANR)

LABEX ‘EpiGenMed’ and the University of Montpellier

Institut National de Cancer (INCa)

EU COST Network ‘Congenital Imprinting Disorders’

Marie Curie Initial Training Network ‘INGENIUM’

National Evolutionary Synthesis Center (NESCent) in Durham, U.S.A

 

Useful Links

View all research teams

Team Overview
Model organism studied
Mouse, Caenorhabditis elegans
Biological process
Genomic Imprinting, DNA and histone methylation, Chromatin Structure
Biological techniques
Stem cell technologies, Cell Biology, Chromatin Immunoprecipitation, FISH, Bioinformatics, Fluorescence Microscopy (FLIM, FRET, FRAP)

fermer

Empreinte Génomique et Développement

Robert Feil

Projets de recherche

Notre équipe étudie l’épigénétique chez les mammifères et plus particulièrement les mécanismes épigénétiques qui contrôlent les gènes soumis à l’empreinte. Ces gènes peu communs sont organisés en domaines chromosomiques évolutivement conservés, et jouent divers rôles. Ils sont essentiels dans le développement et dans certaines maladies. Les gènes soumis à l’empreinte sont exprimés d’une manière mono-allélique, dépendant uniquement de la provenance parentale du gène, soit du père ou de la mère. Cette expression allélique est contrôlée par empreinte génétique due à une méthylation différente de l’ADN (« methylation imprints ») sur des séquences régulatrices clés, mais dépend aussi d’autres caractéristiques de la chromatine.

Une des thématiques de recherche de notre laboratoire est la compréhension de l’établissement de l’empreinte épigénétique dans la lignée germinale et sa maintenance dans les cellules somatiques. En lien avec ce thème, nous étudions comment la méthylation mono-allélique entraîne l’expression de gène soumis à l’empreinte dans l’embryon, souvent dans des tissus spécifiques. Les résultats préliminaires de nos recherches ont identifié l’implication essentielle des longs ARNs non codants (lncRNAs) et un changement de méthylation des histones dans des domaines soumis à l'empreinte.

Ces dernières années notre laboratoire s'est intéressé à un second grand thème : l’exploration de la structuration des domaines chromosomiques dans le noyau en utilisant de nouvelles technologies. Nous nous sommes penchés sur les questions suivantes : est-ce que la chromatine des domaines soumis à l’empreinte présente une structure différente sur les chromosomes maternels par rapport aux paternels ? Est-ce que cette différence de structure contribue à l’expression mono allélique des gènes soumis à l’empreinte ? Pour répondre à ces questions nous avons utilisé des approches de microscopie avancées pour observer la compaction et la structuration de la chromatine à l’échelle nanométrique dans des cellules vivantes. Cette nouvelle étude basée sur le FRET a permis de déchiffrer les rôles structuraux de régulateurs de la chromatine en complément d’approche ciblant les gènes dans la souris et le nématode. Les études combinées de notre laboratoire ont pour but d’améliorer notre compréhension de la régulation des gènes soumis à l’empreinte. Et d’étudier leur contribution dans des maladies humaines spécifiques.


Régulation épigénétique, Empreinte génomique et Développement.

Les mécanismes épigénétiques jouent divers rôles dans le développement et définissent de façon stable la répression ou l’expression des gènes dans des lignées cellulaires spécifiques. Chez les mammifères, il y a plusieurs exemples d’inactivations somatiques héritables sur un des deux allèles d’un gène. Cela inclut les gènes présents sur le chromosome X chez les femelles (inactivation du X) et les gènes soumis à l’empreinte, un ensemble indispensable de 150 gènes codants pour des protéines (et des centaines codant pour des RNA non codants de régulation). L’expression des gènes soumis à l’empreinte dépend entièrement du fait que le gène soit hérité de la mère ou du père, et joue un rôle dans la prolifération cellulaire, l’homéostasie et le comportement. L’expression mono-allélique des gènes soumis à l’empreinte est sous l'influence des régions de contrôle de l’empreinte (ICRs pour ‘Imprinting Control Regions’). Elles sont essentiellement composées de séquences riches en GC de plusieurs kilobases, sur lesquelles les marques épigénétiques sont déposées en fonction de leur passage dans la lignée germinale autant femelle que mâle. La nature précise de ces empreintes génétiques parentale n’est pas encore complètement comprise, mais elles sont caractérisées par une méthylation de l’ADN. L’établissement de l’empreinte par une méthylation mâle ou femelle spécifique nécessite l'action de la méthyltransférase de novo Dnmt3a et de son cofacteur Dnmt3-like (Dnmt3l). Après fécondation, les empreintes de méthylation maternelles et paternelles sont maintenues à travers le développement dans toutes les cellules somatiques (figure 1). La dérégulation de ces processus essentiels est impliquée dans les retards de croissance fœtale du syndrome de Silver-Russell (SRS). Cette dérégulation est aussi impliquée dans le syndrome de Beckwith-Wiedemann (BWS), le diabète néonatal transitoire (TNDM) mais aussi dans divers troubles neuro-comportementaux. Tout comme les gènes suppresseurs de tumeurs, la méthylation de l’ADN est souvent perturbée dans le cancer sur les locus soumis à l’empreinte et contribue à la cancérogénèse.

Figure 1: Contrôle développemental de la méthylation de l’ADN régulant l’expression allélique des gènes soumis à l’empreinte. Les hypothétiques empreintes génomiques par méthylation sont figurées (pastilles noires). Le génome maternel est présenté en rose, le paternel en bleu. Dans les cellules germinales primordiales (PGCs), l’empreinte est effacée pour permettre un « nouveau cycle d’empreinte » pour la nouvelle génération.

Adapté d'Hirasawa & Feil, BioEssays 2010.

1.Maintenance de l’empreinte parentale durant le développement.

Dans cette thématique, nous nous sommes concentrés sur l'étude des empreintes par méthylation de l’ADN mono-allélique sur les ICRs et leur maintien durant le développement, plus particulièrement durant les étapes critiques avant l’implantation. Notre équipe a étudié la présence et l’importance de la méthylation des lysines et arginines sur les histones au niveau des ICRs, qui présente une combinaison de marques différente entre l’allèle méthylé et non méthylé (figure 2). Plus récemment, nous nous sommes intéressés au rôle de facteurs de transcription spécifiques. Les études utilisent la souris comme modèle pour étudier différents domaines soumis à l’empreinte et leur régulation épigénétique à l’échelle du génome. En lien avec l’exploration de la chromatine au niveau des ICRs et comment la différence de méthylation est régulée tout au long du développement, la question de leur origine évolutive et leur importance est également intéressante. Ce thème est notamment approprié pour comprendre les pathologies humaines dans lesquelles la perte ou le gain de méthylation de l’ADN sont souvent impliqués. C’est pourquoi nous avons établi des collaborations avec des groupes cliniques pour explorer la conservation de ces mécanismes sous-jacents chez l’humain et explorer leurs importances dans les maladies liées à l’empreinte.

Recent publications on this research theme

Henckel A., Chebli K., Kota S.K., Arnaud P., and Feil R. (2012). Transcription and histone methylation changes correlate with imprint acquisition in male germ cells. EMBO Journal, 31, 606-615.

Girardot M., Hirasawa, R., Kacem, S., Fritsch, L., Pontis, J., Kota, S.K., Filipponi, D., Fabbrizio, E., Sardet, C., Lohmann, F., Kadam, S., Ait-Si-Ali, S. and Feil, R. (2014). PRMT5-mediated histone H4 arginine-3 symmetrical dimethylation marks chromatin at G+C rich regions of the mouse genome. Nucleic Acids Research, 42, 235-248.

Auclair, G., Borgel, J., Sanz, L.A., Vallet, J., Guibert, S., Dumas, M., Cavelier, P., Girardot, M., Forné, T., Feil, R.* and Weber, M.* (2016). EHMT2 directs DNA methylation for efficient gene silencing in mouse embryos. Genome Res, 26, 192-202.

Prats-Puig, A., Carreras-Badoso, G., Bassols, J., Cavelier, P., Magret, A., Sabench, C., de Zegher, F., Ibanez, L., Feil, R.*, Lopez-Bermejo, A.* (2017). The placental imprinted DLK1-DIO3 domain: a new link to pre- and postnatal growth in human beings. Am. J. Obstet. & Gynecology, Epub before print.

Figure 2: Organisation différente de la chromatine aux régions de contrôle de l’empreinte ICRs dans les cellules somatiques. Sur l’allèle parental marqué de l’empreinte par la méthylation de l’ADN, il y a une méthylation répressive des histones (en rouge) régulée par différentes protéines (affichées à gauche). L’allèle opposé non méthylé est marqué par des modifications de ‘chromatine active’ (en vert). (Sanli et al, Int. Biochem. Cell Biol. 2015)

(Sanli et al., Int J. Biochem. Cell Biol. 2015).

2.Comment les ICRs engendrent-ils l’expression des gènes soumis à l’empreinte en cis ?

Cela a été une thématique longtemps étudié dans le laboratoire et notre axe de recherche adresse la question de l'apport de la méthylation de l’ADN parentale dépendante sur les ilots CpG sur l'expression mono-allélique de gène sur des locus soumis à l’empreinte. Ce processus encore peu compris se produit durant l’embryogenèse, souvent de manière lignage spécifique. Dans nos travaux précédents, nous avons montré l’importance de la méthylation des lysines des histones dans le contrôle développemental de l’expression de gène soumis à l’empreinte. Plus particulièrement, nous avons reporté divers rôles de l’histone méthyltransférase G9A (EHMT2) et du Polycomb répressive Complex 2 (PRC2). Sur plusieurs domaines soumis à l’empreinte, l’ICR produit des long ARNs non codants (lncRNA) qui sont retenus dans le noyau et altèrent l‘expression des gènes en cis. Pour adresser plus en détail ces mécanismes d’action, nous avons étudié le domaine soumis à l’empreinte Dlk1-Dio3 sur le chromosome murin 12. Nous avons trouvé que l’ICR intergénique de ce domaine agit comme un « enhancer », contrôlant en cis l’expression allélique de plusieurs ncRNA. Un de ces ncRNA maternelle est suspecté de réprimer en cis des gènes codants pour des protéines de ce large domaine. De manière intéressante, ce lncRNA appelé Meg3 (‘Maternally expressed gene-3’) est séquestré sur son site de transcription. Nous avons développé différentes manières de visualiser Meg3 dans le noyau (figure 3) en se basant sur l’approche de marquage MS2 et la détection RNA par FISH de la molécule unique.

Recent publications on this research theme

Sanli, I.*, Lalevée, S.*, Camissa, M., Perrin, A., Rage, F., Riccio, A., Llères, D., Bertrand, E., Feil, R. (2018). Meg3 long non-coding RNA expression controls imprinting by preventing transcriptional upregulation in cis. Cell reports, 23, 337-348.

Kota, S.K.*, Lleres, D.*, Bouschet, T., Hirasawa, R., Marchand, A., Begon-Pescia, C., Sanli, I, Arnaud, P., Journot, L., Girardot, M. and Feil, R. (2014). ICR non-coding RNA expression controls imprinting and DNA replication at the Dlk1-Dio3 domain. Dev Cell, 31, 19-33.

Puget, N., Hirasawa, R., Nguyen Hu, N-S., Laviolette-Malirat, N., Feil, R.* & Khamlichi, A.A.* (2015). Insertion of an imprinted insulator into the IgH locus reveals developmentally regulated, transcription-dependent suppression of V(D)J recombination. Mol Cell Biol. 35, 529-543.

Figure 3: FISH detection of the Meg3 long non-coding RNA of the Dlk1-Dio3 imprinted domain in ES cells, using a classical cDNA probe (green) or fluorescent oligonucleotides that detect the inserted MS2 repeats (red). The image to the right shows the overlay. Scale bar, 5 mm

(Sanli/Lalevée et al., Cell reports 2018)

3.Organisation nucléaire des domaines de gènes soumis à l’empreinte.

La façon dont les domaines chromosomiques soumis à l’empreinte sont organisés dans l’espace à l’intérieur du noyau reste encore peu connue, ainsi que les différences d’organisation structurale entre le génome maternel et paternel. Une question en lien avec ces inconnues est de savoir si l’organisation d’ordre supérieur des domaines soumis à l’empreinte est régulée lors du développement, et peut donc contribuer à une expression génique tissue spécifique. Afin d’étudier la topologie nucléaire des domaines, nous avons choisi le locus Dlk1-Dio3 sur le chromosome 12 de la souris comme locus modèle ainsi que d’autres locus soumis à l’empreinte. Dans nos études sur des cellules souches embryonnaires (ES) et différenciées, nous avons utilisé des approches d’hybridation in situ (FISH) et, en collaboration avec d’autres laboratoires, appliqué des techniques de capture de conformation de chromosome (4C). Ces approches combinées nous ont fourni d’importantes connaissances sur les différences de structures entre les chromosomes maternels et paternels, et sur leur différence de contribution lors de l’expression allélique des gènes soumis à l’empreinte.

Recent publications on this research theme

Kota, S.K.*, Lleres, D.*, Bouschet, T., Hirasawa, R., Marchand, A., Begon-Pescia, C., Sanli, I, Arnaud, P., Journot, L., Girardot, M. and Feil, R. (2014). ICR non-coding RNA expression controls imprinting and DNA replication at the Dlk1-Dio3 domain. Dev Cell, 31, 19-33.

Sanli, I. and Feil, R. (2016). PRC-mediated interaction networks of repressed genes: emerging insights and possible roles. Epigenomics, 8, 733-735.

Figure 4: Progéniteurs neuronaux (NPC) obtenus par différenciation in vitro de cellules souches embryonnaires (ES) dans un milieu de culture enrichi en cyclopamine, un inhibiteur de sonic hedgehog. Un marquage par immunofluorescence a été réalisé pour confirmer l’identité corticale des NPCs obtenues après 12 jours de différenciation (voir aussi Kota/Llères et al. Developmental Cell 2014)

4.Étude de la structure de la chromatine à l’échelle nanométrique dans des cellules et animaux vivants.

Nous avons récemment adapté une approche de microscope basée sur le FRET pour mesurer la compaction de la chromatine dans des cellules vivantes. Plus particulièrement, cette nouvelle approche basée sur la mesure non invasive du temps de vie de fluorescence (FLIM) nous permet de suivre la structure et la compaction de la chromatine à l’échelle nanométrique. Nous avons avec succès utilisé cette approche de microscopie quantitative sur des nématodes vivants. Nous avons défini des états de compaction de la chromatine tout le long de chromosomes méiotique, et quel était le rôle des complexes de condensines lors des phases spécifiques de la méiose. Cette approche a également été réalisée dans des cellules cancéreuses, ce qui nous a permis d’étudier les rôles structuraux de protéines spécifiques associées à la chromatine. Pour l’avenir, nous avons pour but d’utiliser cette approche dans des cellules primaires de souris et, d’explorer le rôle de modificateur de la chromatine à l’échelle nanométrique. Une autre perspective excitante est l'exploration des effets génétiques et environnementaux sur la compaction de la chromatine.

Recent publications on this research theme

Lleres, D.*, Bailly, A.P.*, Perrin, A., Norman, D., Xirodimas, D.P., Feil, R. (2017). Quantitative FLIM-FRET microscopy to monitor nanoscale chromatin compaction in vivo reveals structural roles of condensin complexes. Cell reports, 18, 1791-1803.

Sobecki M, Camasses A, Mrouj K, Parisis N, Nicolas E, Lleres D, Gerbe F, Prieto S, Krasinska L, David A, Egure M, Birling M-C, Hem S, Dejardin J, Malumbres M, Jay P, Dulic V, Lafontaine DLJ, Feil R, Fisher D (2016). Ki-67 organises heterochromatin and controls gene expression during cell proliferation. ELife, e13722.

Figure 5: Compaction de la chromatine à l’échelle nanométrique dans des cellules germinales vivantes, au stade pachytène de la méiose (dans C. elegans). La mesure du temps de vie de fluorescence est utilisée pour calculer le FRET entre les histones H2B marquées de fluorophore. Les domaines en rouge sont les plus compactés, en bleu les moins compactés. (Llères D, Bailly A et al. Cell reports 2017).

Membres

Team leader

Robert FEIL

Chercheur DR1

(+33) 04 34 35 96 63

206

FLORIANE AUZANCE

Stagiaire

+33 (0)4 34 35 96 61

Patricia CAVELIER

IE-Recherche

(+33) 04 34 35 96 66

M207

Claire DUPONT

Doctorant

+33 (0)4 34 35 96 63

206

SABINA FARHADOVA

Doctorant

+33 (0)4 34 35 96 66

Amani GHOUSEIN

Chercheur

+33 (0)4 34 35 96 63

206

Melisa GOMEZ-VELAZQUEZ

Post-Doc

+33 (0)4 34 35 96 32

David LLERES

CRCN

(+33) 04 34 35 96 66

Alumni

Alan Aitchison University of Otaga, Christchurch, New Zealand (Senior Research Assistant)

Philippe Arnaud GRED, University of Auvergne (PI, Group Leader)

Katia Delaval INRS, Paris (Reporter)

Doria Filipponi IMCB, Singapore (Post-doctoral Research Fellow)

Cécile Fournier CHU, Montpellier (Patient Communication Manager)

Michael Girardot CGI-Consulting, Montpellier (Senior Consultant)

Yuji Goto Toho University, Chiba, Japan (Associate Professor)

Richard Gregory Childrens’ Hospital, Harvard, Boston (Full Professor, Group Leader)

Amandine Henckel ASPA, Strasbourg, France (Communication Manager)

Herry Herman School of Medicine, Payakumbuh, Indonesia (MD, Specialist)

Ryutaro Hirasawa Pharmaceutical and Medical Devices Agency, Tokyo, Japan (Deputy-Director)

Sanjeev Khosla CDFD, Hyderabad, India (PI, Group Leader)

Satya K. Kota Harvard School of Dental Medicine, Boston, USA (Assistant Professor, Group Leader)

Sébastien Lalevée Agenus Bio Company, Basel, Switzerland (Research Manager)

Alice Marchand IPBS, CNRS, Toulouse (Research Assistant)

Maëlle Pannetier INRA- Jouy-en-Josas (Senior Researcher)

Rakesh Pathak NIH, Bethesda, MD, USA (Post-Doctoral Researcher)

Aurélien Perrin CHU-INSERM, Montpellier (Research Assistant)

Ildem Sanli Institut Pasteur, Paris (Post-Doctoral Researcher)

Lionel Sanz University of California at Davis, California, USA (Post-doctoral Researcher)

Samantha Thompson ABCAM plc, Cambridge, UK (Marketing and Sales)

Szabolcs Toth Consulting Comp., Montpellier (Consulting Manager)

David Umlauf LBME-University of Toulouse (Associate Professor)

Alexandre Wagschal Exonics Therapeutics, Boston, USA (Researcher)

 

 

 

Sélection de publications

Autres informations

Financement
For lab’s research during the last five years has received generous grant, salary and travel funding from:

Fondation Recherche Médicale (FRM)

Agence Nationale de la Recherche (ANR)

LABEX ‘EpiGenMed’ and the University of Montpellier

Institut National de Cancer (INCa)

EU COST Network ‘Congenital Imprinting Disorders’

Marie Curie Initial Training Network ‘INGENIUM’

National Evolutionary Synthesis Center (NESCent) in Durham, U.S.A

 

Liens utiles

Toutes les équipe de recherche

Mots-clés
Model organism studied
Mouse, Caenorhabditis elegans
Biological process
Genomic Imprinting, DNA and histone methylation, Chromatin Structure
Biological techniques
Stem cell technologies, Cell Biology, Chromatin Immunoprecipitation, FISH, Bioinformatics, Fluorescence Microscopy (FLIM, FRET, FRAP)